Epiphany baby!

I could probably count on one hand how many times I’ve had an Epiphany so far in my writing career. Of course, I’m only on my third official project, so it’s not as bad as it sounds. I believe Epiphanies are God’s way of keeping me going. Just yesterday I was wondering why I’m even trying. I’m 9 days into NanoWrimo and at this rate I’ll hit 50,000 words by January 26, 2013. I’m just not good at “writing it down, to hell with the edits”.

I chose a story idea for this year’s contest that has been bouncing around in my head for a long time. I know it’s been at least a year, because I have it listed for the 2011 NanoWrimo attempt, which failed miserably, but I digress…

So, there I was yesterday afternoon taking a late lunch and no one to talk to while I ate. I decided to take a pad of paper and a pen with me and attempt this “writing thing”… when it hit me. It was like walking through a doorway from writer’s block purgatory into paradise.

The struggle isn’t with the story itself. Not to toot my own horn, but it’s a good one. No, the struggle is with the point of view.

I’ve been trying to write it from the little girl’s POV, when it needs to be from the old man’s POV. I know this doesn’t make much sense, not knowing what my story is about, but I have to tell you when it hit me…MAN was I on fire! I hand wrote 500 words in less than an hour. My hand was cramping by the time I went back to work, but I’m on my way, baby!

I know someone else has had to have said this, but… Writing is like golf. You love to hate it until you get that hole in one… then it is worth it. Completely and utterly worth it.

Leave a Reply

