There’s no place like Oz

Oz

I just spent two days in the Land of Oz, and I didn’t want to come back to Kansas!

I went to Oklahoma Writer’s Federation Inc. (OWFI) annual writer’s conference this past weekend. There’s nothing better than a good conference to get the writer juices flowing. I met old friends and made some new ones… a couple of which would fit right in the Land of Oz—but all writers are a bit of crazy, aren’t we? How else could we survive doing what we love?

I was very fortunate to have a budget this year (yea tax refund!). I got to go out to eat and buy lots of BOOKS! I even had a couple of them signed. (Score!)

I have to say the craziest part was helping a friend get dressed for the costume contest. I have a new appreciation for people who dress in steampunk attire. That’s hard work!

The icing on the cake… winning 3rd honorable mention in the Short Story category!

winners

I zoomed on a writing high for two days straight and floated through Sunday on the remnant fumes of that high… but it is Monday again, and time to go back to Kansas (reality). Sigh… I have survived reality, but only just. I want to close my eyes, click my heels, and say,

There’s no place like Oz…

There’s no place like Oz…

4 thoughts on “There’s no place like Oz

  1. Shelley, it is so exciting to see you continue on your “Yellow Brick Road”. No matter how many “wicked witches” you encounter, I know you will figure out how to melt them away. Looking forward to hearing more about your adventure.
    Camille

Leave a Reply

