Writing Prompt #7: Every important call is a close one.

At first, I wasn’t sure what to make of this one and started in a whole different direction, but I was too tired to finish, so I slept on it and see exactly what I want to say this morning. I love how the mind works like that. So, what does it mean “Every important call is a close one”? Think back to any important decision. Was it difficult? Easy? It’s possible to have an “easy” important decision, I suppose, but what’s the fun in talking about that?

No. It’s the difficult ones we appreciate or regret. Unfortunately, regretting seems to be more common. Regretting makes my ass twitch. I’ve done enough of it in my life that I refuse to go down that road any more than I have to. Appreciation, on the other hand, is like a leaf on the wind and hard to catch. Regret is a more common path, because it clings to you like a ball and chain adding link after link with every decision you make.

The truth is, most people receive appreciation for the things they do and say, but are so weighed down by the chains of regret, or even bitterness and guilt, that they don’t  believe they deserve the leaf as it floats by. Something else that makes my ass twitch. STOP IT. How? By making different choices. Easy to say, hard to do, especially when you are carrying around about a 1,000 pounds of regret. But it is a choice.

Choice is power. You do have the power to let go of the regret as hard as it is to believe. You have the power to accept appreciation. You just have to choose. It’s an important call, and it doesn’t have to be a close one.

Leave a Reply

