Goals vs. Resolutions

I recently read some place that it’s better to make GOALS instead of New Year’s RESOLUTIONS. For some reason I like the sound of “Goals” better than “Resolutions”, because like most people, I never keep my resolutions longer than the first month–if I’m lucky. A goal though, can be set any time, any where, any way, shape, or form.

I confess I can jump off the deep end faster than no body’s business, but that’s the fun part of making goals. I love lists. I don’t always complete my lists, but I love making them.

I want this year to be different. Only I can make sure that it happens, but still, there is an accountability I’m looking for, so I’m putting it out there for all the world (or at least the handful of people that read my blog) can see.

I recently asked a friend where she finds all of her writing challenges. She seems to have a new one every month. To my surprise she said she makes them up to give her something to strive for. Talk about a smack to the forehead! Way to think outside of the box! Sometimes I have to really work at that. I claim some level of creativity, or I wouldn’t be writing, but more times than not, I find myself safe and sound in my little corner of the world–in my comfort zone–and out of step with creative juices flowing around me.

Well, I’m here to say I’m shaking off the dust from my laptop and getting back into the saddle!

Goals! I can set goals! I have 4 so far:

Goal #1: Read at least 1 new book a month. I’m a terrible reader. It’s hard to sit still long enough to finish a book. If I don’t make it to 12, I will at least strive for 6. I like reading the same books over and over again. So, as of January, I’m going to attempt to finish a new book. My first choice is: The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kids. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Goal #2: Write something new EVERYDAY. I’m not sure how long I should make this goal, so I’m going to start with 2 weeks–14 days. This does not include Facebook or Twitter posts, but it can be anything written down on paper, in my journal, or even a blog post {wink wink}.

Goals #3 and #4 will kind of go hand in hand with Goal #2, but these are challenges I can track on Twitter, so I will list them.

Goal #3: 30 Poems in 30 Days — I just like the sound of that. I’ve written my first “draft” tonight. It’s not really a poem yet, but it’s something that’s been on my mind the last few days and it felt good to get it on paper.

Goal #4: Blog at least once a month. This won’t be as hard as reading a new book each month, but I have such a hard time with discipline I think this is a reasonable goal that can be stretched. I plan on blogging more than once a month, but will set the bar no farther up…for now.

So there you have it. Now it’s your turn to hold me accountable! (Believe me, I need all the help I can get!)

Leave a Reply

